The 7 Best Custom Label Printing Companies for Food and Beverage Brands (2026): Published Minimums, Turnaround, Food-Contact Status and Who Owns Whom
Researched and drafted with AI assistance, reviewed before publication. How we work

The short answer
For a food or beverage brand buying custom labels in the United States, four suppliers cover almost every case. Wizard Labels has the clearest published food-contact position and the friendliest terms for multi-flavour lines. Lightning Labels publishes the lowest per-design minimum, at 50 labels per version. Sttark sets no minimum quantity at all and is the only one here that also prints folding cartons. Brook + Whittle is the choice once a retailer starts asking about audited plants or you need shrink sleeves, and if that is the direction you are heading, our comparison of shrink sleeves versus pressure-sensitive labels covers the decision before the vendor one. StickerGiant wins a hard deadline, Blue Label wins craft beverage containers, and Consolidated Label is the bridge from digital short runs into flexo volume.
Quick recommendations
- Clearest published food-contact position: Wizard Labels
- Lowest minimum per design: Lightning Labels
- No minimum quantity, plus cartons: Sttark
- Fastest published rush: StickerGiant
- Craft beverage cans and bottles: Blue Label Packaging
- Digital into flexo volume, and sleeves: Consolidated Label
- National scale and SQF-certified plant: Brook + Whittle
How the companies were evaluated
Every figure in this guide is quoted from the company's own website, FAQ or order page, checked in September 2026. Where a company publishes nothing, the entry says "not publicly disclosed" rather than filling the gap with an estimate. Name the bias in that method up front: a comparison built on published specifications flatters self-serve digital printers, who put minimums and turnarounds on a product page because they sell online, and penalises converters who quote every job and publish almost nothing. Brook + Whittle discloses no minimum and no lead time, which is a fact about how it sells, not evidence that it is slower or dearer. The suppliers are ordered by buyer fit rather than by a score, because a hot sauce maker printing five flavours and a brand entering national grocery are not shopping in the same market. Three separate claims get separated deliberately in every entry — US-based, US-serving and US-manufactured are not the same thing, and neither are "food safe", "approved for incidental food contact" and "certified for direct food contact". If the underlying decision is really about decoration method rather than vendor, our comparison of in-mould labelling and pressure-sensitive labels is the better starting point.
Category leaders by criterion — read the columns, not just the total:
- Lowest published minimum quantity: Sttark and Blue Label (none stated), then Lightning Labels at 50 per version
- Fastest published turnaround: StickerGiant Rush, printed and shipped one business day after proof approval
- Longest published standard lead time: Consolidated Label, at 7-10 business days from artwork approval
- Only entry naming a food-contact regulation: Wizard Labels, citing 21 CFR 175.105 for incidental contact
- Only entry with a food-safety scheme certificate: Brook + Whittle, SQF at its Hamilton, Ohio plant
- Only entry publishing a quantity tolerance: Consolidated Label, which states it ships between 90 and 110 of every 100 labels ordered
- Widest format range: Brook + Whittle and Consolidated Label, both covering sleeves and flexible packaging
- Publishes neither a minimum nor a lead time: Brook + Whittle
The ranked suppliers
1. Sttark — Best for no minimum quantity, and labels plus cartons from one vendor
Sttark, the Greenville, South Carolina printer that traded as Frontier Label, is the only supplier here that prints both pressure-sensitive labels and folding cartons, which matters if your product needs a jar label and an outer box on the same timeline.
Formats. Roll labels and 18pt folding cartons; no shrink sleeves, no flexible packaging.
Minimum order. No minimum quantity on any product, but its FAQ puts the minimum order cost at around $260 regardless of how few labels that buys.
Turnaround. Standard processing begins at approximately 3-4 business days, with an expedited option the company says cuts that roughly in half.
Size limits. Maximum print size 12 by 23 inches, minimum recommended half an inch square, on industry-standard three-inch cores.
Colour. States plainly that it does not print PANTONE spot inks and matches the Solid Coated and Uncoated books through CMYK instead — the most honest colour disclosure in this group, and a real constraint if a brand colour is contractual.
Certifications. Publishes FSC, SFI and PEFC certification for its carton paperboard; no food-safety scheme certification published for the label side.
Origin. Single US site in Greenville, South Carolina.
Best for. A brand that wants a label and a matching carton without hitting a quantity floor on either.
Sources: Sttark FAQ.
2. Wizard Labels — Best published food-contact position, and best for multi-flavour runs
Wizard Labels is the only printer in this group that names the regulation its materials sit under rather than gesturing at food safety, which is the answer a co-packer's quality questionnaire actually wants.
Formats. Custom roll labels and blank labels only; no sheets, no cartons, no sleeves.
Minimum order. A published minimum of 100 labels per artwork version, in multiples of 50, so a five-flavour hot sauce line can start at 500 labels total.
Turnaround. Normal production is 2 working days from approval to proceed, with most orders shipping within three business days of proof approval.
Food contact. States its materials and adhesives are approved for incidental food contact under 21 CFR 175.105, for application to packaging rather than to food itself.
Cold chain. Publishes an adhesive service range of -40F to +175F with a minimum application temperature of +25F, and says outright not to apply labels to already-frozen containers.
Tooling. Laser cutting instead of dies, so custom shapes carry no die charge — a nominal fee of usually $30 for the laser file, and press proofs at $95 a set.
Origin. Says its manufacturing facilities and team are located in the United States, and that it was acquired by Brook + Whittle in 2020.
Best for. A food brand with several SKUs per size that needs a defensible food-contact answer on file.
Sources: Wizard Labels FAQ; Wizard Labels about page.
3. Lightning Labels — Best for the lowest per-design minimum, and for embellished labels
Lightning Labels publishes the lowest per-version quantity of any printer here and lets a brand mix quantities across designs in one run, which is how a small line keeps unit price down without warehousing four years of labels.
Formats. Roll labels, stickers, blank labels and pouches; also hot stamp, embossed, metallic, holographic and extended-content labels.
Minimum order. A published 50 labels for each version of artwork, mixed and matched inside one order, against a minimum order value of $250 per item.
Turnaround. Ships most jobs in 2 - 3 business days following proof approval, rush orders within 2 business days, and warns that hot stamp and embossed work runs 7 to 14 business days instead.
Proofing. Offers one free press proof per order with the customer paying shipping — the only free physical proof published in this group.
Certifications. No food-safety scheme certification published; the FAQ covers materials and adhesives rather than plant audits.
Origin. Denver, Colorado. Its own site hosts a supplemental privacy notice issued by Brook & Whittle Limited and its subsidiaries, so treat it as part of that group rather than as an independent quote.
Best for. A brand with many designs and small quantities of each, or one that wants foil and embossing at short-run volumes.
Sources: Lightning Labels FAQ; Lightning Labels US supplemental privacy notice.
4. StickerGiant — Best for a hard deadline, and the clearest material datasheets
StickerGiant publishes face stock, liner, adhesive and laminate specifications for every label it sells, which is unusual at this end of the market and useful when a labelling line rejects a liner.
Formats. Roll labels and stickers in BOPP, clear polypropylene, holographic polyester, glossy paper, kraft and recycled paper; no cartons or sleeves.
Minimum order. No minimum quantity published as a number; labels are bought from quantity tiers in the online configurator.
Turnaround. Production typically takes 2 to 5 business days after proof approval, and its Rush service prints and ships 1 business day after proof approval.
Food contact. Says its labels are not certified for direct contact with food and belong on the outside of jars, bottles and wrappers — a narrower claim than Wizard's, and worth reading before you specify a tamper seal.
Line compatibility. Offers a PET liner on white BOPP for high-speed applicators, rated for application as cold as 25 degrees F and storage from -75 to 200 degrees F, with label sizes from half an inch square up to 11 by 14 inches.
Sustainability. Publishes an FSC-certified matte recycled paper made entirely from post-consumer waste, and a kraft stock made from recycled natural kraft.
Origin. Printed, finished and shipped from a single Longmont, Colorado facility, with local pickup for Colorado buyers.
Best for. A launch date that cannot move, or an automated line that needs a specified liner.
Sources: StickerGiant custom labels; StickerGiant about page.
5. Blue Label Packaging — Best for craft beverage cans and bottles
Blue Label builds its ordering system around beverage formats rather than around shapes, so a brewery orders a 12oz can label or a keg collar instead of translating its packaging into a rectangle size.
Formats. Pressure-sensitive labels for cans, bottles, crowlers, keg wraps and collars, plus printed cans; no cartons.
Minimum order. No minimum label quantity, against a minimum order amount typically around $200, with how many labels that buys depending on the design.
Turnaround. Five working days after receipt of the approved proof and signed purchase order, and it says custom dies or special substrates take longer because it waits on the supplier.
Colour. Runs HP Indigo presses with orange, violet and green ElectroInks added, and claims PANTONE emulations up to 97 percent — the most specific colour-gamut claim published here, and the reason to read our note on Pantone versus CMYK for packaging before you sign off a proof.
Tooling. Charges the customer once for a custom die and pays for replacements itself thereafter; no plate charges, because it does not use plates.
Certifications. No food-safety scheme certification published; the FAQ covers substrates, colour and proofing.
Origin. Lancaster, Ohio.
Best for. A brewery, distillery or winery that wants a cooler-proof label ordered by container format.
Sources: Blue Label Packaging FAQ.
6. Consolidated Label — Best for flexo volume, and the only published quantity tolerance
Consolidated Label is the only company in this comparison that publishes what happens when a press does not produce exactly what you ordered, which is the clause that decides whether a short shipment becomes your problem or theirs.
Formats. Digital and flexographic pressure-sensitive labels, shrink sleeves and flexible packaging — the widest format range here alongside Brook + Whittle.
Minimum order. Short-run digital orders start at 100 labels, with no minimum order value published.
Turnaround. Digital work typically ships 3-5 business days from artwork approval; typical production overall is 7-10 business days, 10-15 with special materials or custom tooling, and 5-7 for most reorders.
Quantity tolerance. States it will ship no less than 90 percent and no more than 110 percent of the ordered quantity, billing only what it produces, and will hold to an exact count on request.
Size limits. Largest die-cut label it publishes is 16 inches wide by 24 inches long.
Certifications. Displays ISO registration, GMI colour certification and Sedex and TLMI membership on its own pages; no SQF or BRCGS certificate published.
Origin. Sanford, Florida, with regional sales staff in several states. Its own pages describe it as a division of Online Labels Group.
Best for. A brand crossing from digital short runs into flexo volume, or one that needs sleeves and labels from the same converter.
Sources: Consolidated Label ordering FAQs.
7. Brook + Whittle — Best for national scale and audited food-safety processes
Brook + Whittle is the one supplier here that a national retailer's supplier-qualification programme will already recognise, and the only one with a plant certified under a food-safety scheme rather than a colour or forestry standard.
Formats. Pressure-sensitive labels, shrink sleeves, heat transfer labels and flexible packaging, including light-blocking and floatable polyolefin sleeve constructions.
Minimum order. Not publicly disclosed. Everything is quoted, which is the trade-off for the capability range.
Turnaround. Not publicly disclosed. No published lead time for any format.
Certifications. Its Hamilton, Ohio plant is Safe Quality Food certified, which the company frames as covering traceability, supplier management and corrective action rather than print quality alone.
Origin. Guilford, Connecticut head office, with twelve operational sites across the United States from Anaheim to Amherst — so which plant runs your job is a question worth asking.
Ownership. Owns Wizard Labels, and Lightning Labels publishes its group privacy notice. Three of the seven entries in this guide therefore sit in one corporate family.
Best for. A brand entering national grocery, moving to shrink sleeves, or answering a retailer's food-safety questionnaire.
Sources: Brook + Whittle SQF certification; Brook + Whittle locations.
What is the minimum order for custom printed labels?
Lower than most brands assume, and set per design rather than per order. Lightning Labels publishes 50 labels for each version of artwork; Wizard Labels and Consolidated Label both start at 100; Sttark and Blue Label Packaging state no minimum quantity at all but hold a minimum order value instead, which is the constraint that actually bites at small volumes. Ask any quote for both numbers, because a printer with no quantity minimum and a several-hundred-dollar order floor is not cheaper than one with a 100-label minimum.
Are custom labels food safe?
"Food safe" is not one thing, and the printers here say three different things. Wizard Labels states its materials and adhesives are approved for incidental food contact under 21 CFR 175.105, meaning application to packaging rather than to food. StickerGiant says outright that its labels are not certified for direct food contact and belong on the outside of a container. Brook + Whittle holds SQF certification at one plant, which is a claim about audited manufacturing systems rather than about the label touching food. None of those is a substitute for either of the others, and a co-packer's questionnaire usually wants the second and third rather than a reassuring adjective.
How fast can I get custom labels printed?
Published production times in this group run from one business day after proof approval on StickerGiant's Rush service to 7-10 business days as Consolidated Label's typical figure, with Wizard Labels at 2 working days, Lightning Labels at 2 - 3, Sttark at 3-4 and Blue Label at five. Every one of those clocks starts at proof approval rather than at order, so the artwork round trip is yours to manage, and none of them includes transit.
Which label printers actually manufacture in the USA?
All seven print in the United States, which makes origin a weaker differentiator here than it is for pouches or containers. What varies is how many sites there are and whether you know which one gets your job: Sttark, StickerGiant, Lightning Labels and Blue Label each name a single facility, Wizard Labels says its manufacturing is US-based without naming a plant, Consolidated Label works from Sanford, Florida, and Brook + Whittle runs twelve US sites, so the plant is a question for the quote rather than the website.
Are these label companies independent of each other?
Not entirely, and no comparison seems to mention it. Brook + Whittle's own pages and Wizard Labels' about page show that Wizard Labels was acquired by Brook + Whittle in 2020, and Lightning Labels hosts a supplemental privacy notice issued by Brook & Whittle Limited and its subsidiaries. Consolidated Label describes itself as a division of Online Labels Group. So three of the seven brands here sit in one family and two more sit in another. That is not a reason to avoid any of them, but if you are collecting quotes to compare, check which corporate group each one belongs to before treating them as independent bids.
About this article
About this guide: PackageTheWorld is an independent editorial site. No company paid for placement, there are no affiliate or sponsored links in this comparison, and nobody named here was contacted for it or shown it in advance. Every figure was quoted from the company's own published pages in September 2026; minimums, turnarounds and prices change, so treat these as the starting point for a quote rather than as a quote. Where a company publishes no figure, this guide says so rather than estimating one.

Editorial team
The PackageTheWorld editorial team researches and writes our packaging guides, comparisons and case studies. Articles are researched and drafted with AI assistance and reviewed before publication; every statistic we publish links to its primary source. PackageTheWorld is affiliated with Paking Duck, a packaging supplier, and links to Paking Duck are marked as sponsored. See our editorial policy for how we source and correct articles.


